Liquid IT Ultra Football Sir Breadwins
One Foundation Four Winds NZCT Air Rescue & Community Services The Lion Foundation
Dynamic Electrical PV Tiling Plumbing Express


« Back
BOOST | Friends and Family

BOOST | Friends and Family

Friends and family boost the profile of your beloved local football club Wellington Olympic AFC.


Founded in 1953 by the Greek community of Wellington as Apollon AFC, the club has remained true to its traditions despite going through various name changes from Apollon AFC to CYFC (Christian Youth Football Club) in 1959 then to the present Wellington Olympic AFC in 1983.

Over the last decade Wellington Olympic AFC has become a growing force in football, challenging long established Wellington Clubs.

1977 Christian Youth Football Club - First Team

Top row: Lenly Wane, Alkes Ioannou, Harry Kotsapas, Nick Halikias Middle Row: Adrian Hill, Evangelos Lambaditis, Patrick McCleary, Terry Hobin, Spiros Androutos Front row: Costa Tzitziras, Wayne Huntley (coach), Demetrios Androutsos (Manager), John Joyce, John Poulopoulos (secretary), George Bertos (Captain), Peter Halikias.

1999 Wellington Olympic AFC - First Team
Back row: Paul Kotrotsos, Daniel Willis, Leo Bertos, Jared Curtis, Basil Mitrakas (Captain), Kurt Young, Gary Minshull Front row: Shane Heathcote, Rocky Rogan, Besim Basilevac, Simon George, Chris Christie Absent: Toro Hill, Ian Minshull, Ben Climo, Leo Papadopoulos (Chairman/Manager),George Bertos (Coach).

The golden season of the club's history came in 2009, as Wellington Olympic AFC claimed it's first ever Chatham Cup success after a 2-1 win against Three Kings United.

In the final, Three Kings United took an early lead through a third-minute goal from Luiz del Monte. Three Kings dominated for much of the early part of the match, but higher-ranked Olympic fought back, and a header just before the half-hour mark from Mickey Malivuk levelled the scores at 1-1. In the second half Olympic had the upper hand, and eventually took the lead through a 75th minute penalty taken by Raf De Gregorio Three Kings attacked strongly during the last few minutes of the match but were unable to produce an equaliser and Wellington Olympic AFC were crowned champions of the ASB Chatham Cup for the very first time.

2009 Wellington Olympic AFC - First Team

Back L-R: Simon George (co-coach), Geroge Neonakis (chairman), Adam Church, Barry Lewis, Miroslav Malivuk, Nicholas Van Huttum, Ryan Edwards, Jared Curtis, Scott Robson, Craig Hopkins (co-coach), Paul Kuggeleijn (physio)
Front L-R: George Barbarouses, John Gerondis, Anthony Neonakis, Jamie O'Connor, Mikey Halikas (c), Jimmy Haidakis, Chaz Lawerance, Raf De Gregorio, John Carras.

The clubs first team compete in the Lotto Men's Central League, while the reserves are up against other clubs first teams in the Capital Premier League, which is only one division lower than the first team.

Notable players to wear the blue of Wellington Olympic AFC are Leo Bertos, Kosta Barbarouses, Stu Jacobs, Simon Elliot and most recently New Zealand U20 Star, Clayton Lewis (who is on the verge of signing a professional contract at Millwall FC in England).

Please like and share our page to help boost our clubs profile as we look to keep you all updated with news and events via the clubs official website, facebook page, and twitter account.

Follow us at the clubs Official Facebook Page and Official Twitter Account

Ole, Ole, Olympic!

Fixtures & Results


Click here »


Click here »

Tiger Scaffolds
Havana Coffee Works
Capital Produce
Liquor Land
Advance Electrical
Wellington Sea Market

TBD Digital
Greek Orthodox Community of Wellington